Our board & staff


PROTEC is governed by a Board of Directors appointed at the AGM and mandated through the provisions of the constitution. PROTEC’s Board consists of representatives from the private sector, education and the science and technology community in South Africa. Members are allowed no more than two terms of three years each, and are replaced during the elective AGM.

The Board meets four times during the year, and the Finance committee every second month. If the need arises, interim meetings are held.

The current Board of Directors includes:

Antony Hlungwane


Steven Ntlatleng


Mike Truelock

(Deputy Chairperson)

Professor Francis Faller


Balan Moodley


Reggy Zikalala

(Alumni Chairman and Director)

Francois Adriaan

(Finance Committee
Chairperson and Director)

Jones Moloisane


Professor Anthony Essien


Refilwe Lesufi



Balan Moodley


Fannie Matumba

(GM Operations)

Duduzile Ngoepe

(Senior Projects Manager)

Leeron Slimmerts

(Finance & HR Manager)

Awelani Khakhu

(PA to CEO)

Letty Macezu

(Office Assistant)

Luyanda Mamane

(Project Coordinator - General Electric Foundation)

Malefo Masemola

(Project Manager - Physical Sciences Subject Specialist)

Thapelo Ndhlovu

(Project Coordinator - General Electric Foundation / FHI 360)

Julie Vivier

(Fundraising and Marketing)

Timothy Maneswa

(Project Manager - English Subject Specialist)

About us

PROTEC is a leading South African non-profit organisation, operating nationally in the field of STEM education since 1982.

Read More


Suite 4 & 5, The Ferns Office Park, 364 Pretoria Avenue, Ferndale, Randburg, 2160.


Our donors make the difference. Their partnership with an NPO with a proven track record means that their contributions impact the lives of our future leaders.

© Copyright 2022 by Protec STEM